Is a nut a vegetable or a fruit?

A nut is a fruit consisting of a hard or tough nutshell protecting a kernel which is usually edible.

---

Nuts, are actually fruits. They are defined as dry, single-seeded fruits that have high oil content. They are usually enclosed in a leathery or solid outer layer. In botany terms, nuts are strictly a particular kind of dry fruit, that has a single seed, a hard shell, and a protective husk.