What's the difference between bread and cake?

One of the most basic differences between cake and bread is the leavening agent used to make the batter or dough rise. The leavening & handling of the recipe influences the final product, and sometimes the amount of sweetness, that makes one finished baked product “cake” and another, “bread”.