What's the difference between bread and cake?

One of the differences between cake and bread is the leavening agent used to make the dough rise. Cakes are leavened with baking soda or baking powder, while bread uses yeast. Quick breads, which use baking powder, are not truly bread, as they tend to be sweet and have the crumbly texture of cake.