How many times has the white house burned down?

The white house has been burned twice, first in 1814 by the British and the second time, although a lessor fire was en electrical fire in 1929.

---

There have been two fires. It was set fire by British troops in 1814 during the "War of 1812." James Madison was the President. It took until 1817 to rebuild. A second fire in 1929 was caused by faulty electrical. It only involved the West Wing and was renovated by then President Herbert Hoover.