How many times has the white house burned down?

There have been two fires. It was set fire by British troops in 1814 during the "War of 1812." James Madison was the President. It took until 1817 to rebuild. A second fire in 1929 was caused by faulty electrical. It only involved the West Wing and was renovated by then President Herbert Hoover.