Are the bahama islands a. u. s. territory?

No, despite their proximity to the US, the Bahamian dollar being on par with the American dollar, and being part of the North American Numbering Plan, they are actually independent. The Bahamas gained independence from the UK in 1973, though the British monarch is still the head of state.