What does the coast guard do?

The Coast Guard perform 11 official missions including: Port & Waterway Security, Drug Interdiction, Aids to Navigation, Search & Rescue, Living Marine Resources, Marine Safety, Defense Readiness, Migrant Interdiction, Marine Environmental Protection, Ice Operations & Law Enforcement.