How do you record a tv show?

A DVD recorder records TV programmes onto a recordable DVD disc. However, a DVD disc can usually only hold between one to four hours of footage. If you're intending to use it as your main TV-recording device then buying one with a built-in hard disk is probably the most sensible option.