What is the tradition of eating black eyed peas on new year's day?

The custom of eating Black eyed peas in celebration of Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year has been around for over 1500 years. Sephardic Jews moved to Georgia and it may have spread across the southern United States. Also a saying of, “Eat poor on New Year's, and eat fat the rest of the year.”