Who are some famous astronomers?

Some of the most famous astronomers in the world are Claudius Ptolemy, Nicolaus Copernicus, Johannes Kepler, Galileo Galilei, Isaac Newton, Christiaan Huygens, Giovanni Cassini, Charles Messier, Albert Einstein, Carl Sagan and Stephen Hawking, among others.