Who came up with the five second rule?

The five-second rule as we know it today has murky origins. The book Did You Just Eat That? by food scientist Paul Dawson and food microbiologist Brian Sheldon traces the origins to legends around Genghis Khan. The Mongol ruler is rumored to have implemented the “Khan Rule” at his banquets.