Why do strawberries have seeds on the outside?

Strawberries don't keep their seeds outside their fruit. When a strawberry flower is pollinated, the fruit doesn't swell. The fertilized ovaries in the flower form separate, small, dry fruits. Those “seeds” on the outside of a strawberry are actually the fruits, each of which contains a single seed.