Who is king layer?

King Lear is a tragedy by William Shakespeare. It's about a king who bequeaths his kingdom to two of his three daughters. When he is treated with disrespect by the two daughters, he becomes furious to the point of madness. He eventually becomes tenderly reconciled to his third daughter.