What are the three kinds of rock?

The three main types of rock are Igneous rock, which is hardened lava or magma, Sedimentary rock, which forms when accumulated sand, mud and soil are compressed hard enough to form rock, and Metamorphic rock, which is igneous or sedimentary rock that has been crushed and heated underground.