Why do we have different eye colors?

Eye colors depend on how much pigment called melanin is in the iris. Brown eyes have a lot of melanin. Other colors depend on how light reflects off an iris with less melanin. How much melanin a person has depends on their DNA. Genes for brown are dominant over genes for other colors.