What did p. t. barnum lead across the brooklyn bridge?

On May 17, 1884, P.T. Barnum’s 21 elephants, including his star, Jumbo, crossed on foot from Manhattan to a circus showground in Brooklyn to demonstrate the safety of the bridge to the public and promote the circus. This became an annual springtime ritual.