Where did katy bar the door come from?

Katy bar the door is an exclamation that means watch out, trouble is on its way. It is an American phrase, usually heard in the southern United States. The exact origin is unknown. One possible source of the phrase is a Scottish ballad called Get Up and Bar the Door published in 1776.