How are seasons created?

Seasons result from the way our planet tilts as it travels in space. From livescience.com: The cycle of seasons is caused by Earth's tilt toward the sun. The planet rotates around an (invisible) axis. At different times during the year, the northern or southern axis is closer to the sun.