Was president carter in the navy?

President Jimmy Carter was on active duty with the Navy from 1946, when he graduated from the Naval Academy in Anapolis Maryland, until 1953, when he left active duty to take over the family peanut business upon the death of his father. He was then on inactive reserve duty until 1961.