When was the flamethrower invented?

1901 Though projected incendiary weapons such as Greek fire were used in naval engagements by ancient Byzantines and Chinese, the modern flamethrower made its debut in 1901, when Richard Fiedler submitted his "Flammenwerfer" design to the German Army.

---

Originally invented by a German engineer, Richard Fiedler, in 1900