What causes ozone depletion?

Ozone depletion occurs when chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) and halons - gases formerly found in aerosol spray cans and refrigerants - are released into the atmosphere. CFCs and halons cause chemical reactions that break down ozone molecules, reducing ozone's ultraviolet radiation-absorbing capacity.