Is it bad to put hot food in the fridge?

Placing hot food in the fridge won’t harm your appliance or affect the temperature of the foods around it. Health Canada stresses that bacteria can grow on food within two hours unless it’s refrigerated, especially high-risk foods such as meat, poultry, fish, eggs and other dairy products.