How many states have multiple time zones?

There are 13 states in the U.S. covered by multiple time zones.

---

There are thirteen states that are divided into two time zones. Quite often, it is just a small portion of a state that is in a different time zone. In the case of South Dakota, Kentucky, and Tennessee, the states are nearly cut in half by the time zone change.