What is apple cider dye?

Apple cider vinegar in dyeing produces an acid pH for acid dyes. Used to color protein fibers such as wool and nylon, require mildly acidic pH to form a permanent bond to the fiber. Vinegar is inexpensive, convenient source of this acid.