What's the longest somebody's ever stayed awake?

Randy Gardner (born c. 1946) was an American high school student from San Diego, California, who set the record for the longest time a human has gone without sleep. In December 1963 - January 1964, 17-year-old Gardner stayed awake for 11 days and 25 minutes (264.4 hours).