What's a footnote abbreviation?

Footnotes appear at bottom of pages or at the end of a book, indicated by asterisks (*) or superscript numbers 1,2, 3, etc. Footnote abbreviations include: et. seq. (and the following); loc. cit. (in the place cited, refers to earlier FN of same source); et al. (& others -- meaning other sources).