Why are weights called dumbbells?

The word “dumbbell” was officially coined in England during the sixteenth century when athletes trained with handheld bells with the clappers removed

---

Early bodybuilders used actual metal bells to lift with each hand. The clappers would be removed so they didn't ring, hence they were silent, or dumb.