Why does a giraffe have a dark blue tongue?

The giraffe's tongue is long and prehensile, and it spends a lot of time outside the giraffe's mouth, grabbing onto plants. Because it's out in the sun a lot, the tongue is protected by melanin against sunburn. The melanin gives the tongue its characteristic blue-black color.