Where does watermelon grow?

Originally watermelon is from Africa. Now they’re grown in 44 US states. They actually thrive when grown off the ground on a trellis. Little known fact: Japan grows square shaped watermelons and all watermelon is pricey. Sometimes as much as $200 per melon!