Who is saving private ryan?

Like the real-life Fritz Niland, the movie's Private Ryan was a paratrooper in the 101st Airborne Division. Matt Damon's character, Private James Francis Ryan, was inspired by a real person, Sergeant Frederick "Fritz" Niland.