What does pathetic mean?

Definition 1 Having a capacity to move one to either compassionate or contemptuous pity Definition 2 marked by sorrow or melancholy or sadness Definition 3 pitifully inferior or inadequate Definition 3 absurd, laughable

---

Inadequate