What's the difference between a gnat and a fruit fly?

A gnat is of the suborder Nematocera, and usually is found in large swarms. They can be biting or non-biting. Fruit flies are a different species, Drosophila melanogaster. Some people think they are the same, but they aren't.

---

Fruit flies have a rounded silhouette like a smaller version of the common house fly. On the other hand, fungus gnats feature dangling legs and long bodies that make them appear similar to a small mosquito.