How do you know when noodles are ready?

When you slowly bite into them with just your front teeth, they are mostly soft. There is a tiny bit of resistance at the core but not still hard or crunchy. This is the meaning of “al dente”—to the tooth. Then quickly rinse them off with cold water to stop the cooking and remove excess starch