What is the endo symbiotic theory?

What is the endo symbiotic theory? The Endosymbiotic Theory states that the mitochondria/chloroplast in eukaryotic cells were once aerobic bacteria were ingested by a large anaerobic bacteria. The aerobic bacteria were initially free-living prokaryotes, before being ingested by anaerobic bacteria