When did people start using money?

The first region of the world to use an industrial facility to manufacture coins that could be used as currency was in Europe, in the region called Lydia (modern-day Western Turkey), in approximately 600 B.C. The Chinese were the first to devise a system of paper money, in approximately 770 B.C.