What are murder wasps?

Murder wasps are large social hornets about 2 inches long that sport orange heads, orange stripes and a pointed rear end with a big curved stinger. Native to eastern and Southeast Asia, they prey on honey bees, ripping them to pieces, and kill a few dozen people a year with their painful stings.