What are fraternal twins?

Fraternal twins develop from 2 sets of eggs and sperm and can be either same sex or opposite sex. Identical twins develop from one egg and sperm and are always the same sex.

---

Fraternal twins are either of a pair of twins who, as a result of developing from separately fertilized ova, are genetically distinct and not necessarily of the same sex or more similar in appearance than other siblings. In other words, 2 separate eggs fertilized by separate sperms.