What's a libel law?

Libel law is defamation that is specific to written communication. For something to qualify as libel it must also meet the following elements: (1) a false statement purporting to be fact, (2) communicated to a third party, (3) at least negligent, (4) and must cause damages, usually to reputation.

---

a published false statement that is damaging to a person's reputation; a written defamation