What is machu picchu?

Machu Picchu is an Incan citadel in the Andes Mountains in Peru. Built in the 15th century and later abandoned, it's renowned for its dry-stoned walls that fuse huge blocks without mortar, and intriguing buildings that play on astronomical alignments and panoramic views.