What is tempura ice cream?

Tempura ice cream is a type of fried ice cream that uses Asian style batter, called tempura. Fried ice cream is made by coating balls of ice cream in thin breading and briefly deep frying the balls just enough to crisp the breading, but not enough to melt the inner ice cream.