What year was star wars the new hope made in?

Star Wars episode 4, later titled "A New Hope", was released in 1977.

---

"Star Wars: Episode IV -- A New Hope," originally titled simply "Star Wars," was released on 25 May 1977. Actual production started in 1975, with principal photography starting in March 1976 and concluding a year later.