Is baklava polish?

Baklava is not Polish. About the 8th century B.C., Assyrians baked thin layers of dough with nuts, pouring honey over it. The recipe changed, with nuts being added, as it spread to the Near East, Armenia, Turkey, and then westward to Greece with the advent of the Grecian Empire.