What does c. a. s. s. e. t. t. e. s. spell?

According to Wikipedia, the Compact Cassette or Musicassette, also commonly called the tape cassette, cassette tape, audio cassette, or simply tape or cassette is an analog magnetic tape recording format for audio recording and playback.