How do you know that a dog loves you?

The most obvious way is through tail-wagging. Other signs of dog affection are licking faces, following you around, or wanting to play and sleep with you. Dogs often rub their faces on people they like too. If a dog looks to you for guidance, approval & companionship, he certainly loves you.