Is marshmello from annoying orange a boy or a girl?

The gender of Marshmallow, also known by given name, Winkie, or by gang nickname, Marshmallow 2, in the Annoying Orange series, is unknown. However, they're occasionally referred to using traditionally male pronouns, such as he, him and his.