Who was the teacher in the outsiders?

Who was the teacher in the outsiders? Jerry Wood. Jerry Wood is the teacher who accompanies Ponyboy to the hospital after he saves the children from the fire. Though an adult and a member of mainstream society, Jerry judges the greasers on their merits.