How many miles per hour can a human run?

How fast is it physically possible for a human to run? — Steve in Davis, Calif. So far, the fastest anyone has run is about 27½ miles per hour, a speed reached (briefly) by sprinter Usain Bolt just after the midpoint of his world-record 100-meter dash in 2009.