How do you know how do i know if milk has gone bad?

Spoiled milk has a distinct sour odor, which is due to lactic acid produced by bacteria. Other signs of spoilage include a slightly yellow color and lumpy texture (15). Signs that your milk has spoiled and may not be safe to drink include a sour smell and taste, change in color, and lumpy texture.