How long does a christmas cactus live?

The Old Farmer's Almanac tells us Christmas cacti can live for 20 to 30 years when properly cared for. If you provide long nights starting around October 1, you can force the Christmas cactus to bloom year after year. Cool night temperatures also encourage it to bloom.