Why is iceland the safest country?

Iceland is not only one of the safest countries in the world, but it is the safest country in the world and has been every year from 2008 through 2020, according to the Global Peace Index. Petty crime like pickpocketing and robbery is rare, while violent crime is almost non-existent.