Why do we have pets?

Pets contribute positively to our lives in terms of mood health and longevity. Pets provide a sense of purpose an object of focus and affection and a reason to get out of bed each day. Petting a cat or dog lowers blood pressure and improves mood. Pets are seen as a source of unconditional love.