Who is elijah in the old testament?

The bible story of Elijah is found in the old testament in the first book of Kings, chapters 17 and 18. In the story, Elijah has a widow use her last bit of flour and oil to make him a loaf of bread. Her son then passes away and Elijah restores his life. He also confronts King Ahab on Mount Carmel.